Titus and Lovett’s Cooking Corner – Episode One

Hello and welcome to this week’s episode of Titus and Lovett’s Cooking Corner: the weekly cooking program for all you meat enthusiasts!

This week we’ll be showing you how to make Titus’ Signature Roman Style Shish kebabs. But first, let’s introduce you to your hosts!

Kebab_1

Titus Andronicus served most of his life as a general in the Roman army. He only got his start cooking in retirement, as a pastime to share with his daughter. A true family man, he believes in giving every dish its own personal flair, special made for those he’s cooking for.

Mrs. Nellie Lovett started her cooking career early on when she opened her business “Mrs. Lovett’s Meat Pieshop” on Fleet Street. Early on it had its rough patches, but business couldn’t be better since she modified her classic pie recipe. She believes that a true restaurant is more than just a good cook: it takes a whole community.

Titus: “After my home style recipes got a bit of renown, I was called on to do a panel with Nellie at an international pie convention, where we talked about our process for making delicious meat pies. We found out there that we have a lot of favorite secret ingredients in common, so we quickly became fast friends.”

Lovett: “We decided we needed to share our recipes with the world, so we created this series. But on top of sharing the recipes themselves, we wanted to drive the point home that who you share it with is just as important as what you make, so we decided to bring some of our personal friends on each week.”

So without further adieu, we’ll introduce our special guests…

Kebab_2
Saturninus, Emperor of Rome
“Titus isn’t just one of my subjects and former generals, he’s also one of my best friends. We stay up late talking family matters, we get up really, really early to hunt. I’ve only gotten the pleasure of experiencing Titus’ cooking once, but that dinner party ended up being a bit of a disaster… so I’m excited to finally have my chance to taste it again!”

Kebab_3
Tobias Ragg
“Mrs. Lovett is like the mother I never had: she rescued me from a pretty dark time in my life. I help around the pie shop from time to time, but I’ve never really had the pleasure of her cooking something special for me. I’m sure this will be lovely.”

Titus’ Signature Roman Style Shish Kebabs

Titus: “This is a dish that I’ve been perfecting for a few years, and up until now I’ve only shared it with my family and Nellie. I finally think it’s ready to show the world, and I’m sure it’ll make a meal fit for an emperor… and, I guess, an urchin.

Lovett: “First, you’re going to want to gather your ingredients: here’s what you’ll need.”

● 1/2 cup teriyaki sauce
● 1/2 cup honey
● 1/2 teaspoon coriander
● 1/2 pinch ground ginger
● 2 red bell peppers, cut into 2 inch pieces
● 1 large sweet onion, peeled and cut into wedges
● 1 1/2 cups whole fresh mushrooms
● 2 ½ lbs assorted meat of choice – cut into cubes
● skewers

Titus: “Note that it says assorted meat of choice: this is where I like to use a bit of my own creativity. Whatever meat I use, I want it to mean something to old Saturnine and Toby. In our case, Lovett and I have both chosen a special blend we’ve already prepared. Sorry, trade secret.”

● In a large resealable plastic bag, mix the teriyaki sauce, honey, garlic powder, and ginger. Place red bell peppers, onion wedges, mushrooms, and selected meat in the bag with the marinade. Seal, and refrigerate 4 to 24 hours.

Lovett: “It’s important to give all the ingredients time to mingle. The better they know each other, the better the dish will taste, it’s as simple as that.”

● Preheat grill for medium-high heat.
● Discard marinade, and thread the meat and vegetables on to separate skewers.

Titus: “Now here’s a trade secret for really delicious, well-prepared shish kebabs: the ingredients have already gotten time to know each other while marinating. You don’t actually need to grill them all together on the same skewers. Try grilling each ingredient separately, and reassembling them afterwards.”

● Lightly oil the grill grate. Grill skewers for 10 minutes turning as needed, or until meat is cooked through and vegetables are tender

Lovett: “And then all you have to do is assemble the kebabs the way you want them, and you’re ready to serve! Better yet, if you’re entertaining guests, try arranging the ingredients on a platter and letting them assemble their own.”

And it’s simple as that! Let’s check back in with our guests, see how they like the dish.

Kebabs_4

Toby: “Having practically lived off of dirt my whole life, I didn’t know that food could be this good! How kind of Mrs. Lovett and Mr. Andronicus to treat me so well.”

Saturninus: “Andronicus would thou wert shipped to hell, rather than rob me of another kebab!”

And how do the cooks like their own creation?

Titus: “Oh! While I’m proud that Saturnine enjoyed my dish, Nellie and I make it a rule never to taste the dishes we prepare on Cooking Corner.”

Lovett: “We feel it would… spoil the secret ingredient. Eat up, Toby!”

——-

Another great dish from Titus and Lovett’s Cooking Corner! Be sure to check back in next week, when they’ll teach you how to make Mrs. Lovett’s Mystery Meatloaf.

Share your thoughts!

