ODC Meet the Cast 4

ODC-meet-the-cast

Leading up to the opening of our fifth show of the season, Other Desert Cities, we’ll be introducing you to the cast. A story about the fictional Wyeth family – lead by a mother and father highly regarded in old Hollywood circles – and daughter Brooke Wyeth’s memoir that may bring to light a dark secret that no one wants revealed. The Guthrie Theater characterized the play as “a searing comedy with banter that dazzles and decimates, making it one of the most satisfying grown-up plays of the decade.” Filled with a unique family of characters, we’d love for you to meet the talented actors behind them.

Next up, let’s meet aunt Silda, played by Ellie Martin.


Playhouse: In what ways do you relate to your character?

Ellie Martin

Ellie Martin: I guess we all hate to admit our mistakes, to be confronted by our own hypocrisies. It’s much easier to spot other people’s hypocrisies than our own. I think Silda has a need to be noticed, to matter – and I certainly relate to that. We all like to be in the right, abhor being wrong. We think we know the truth but it is “our” truth and others have theirs. I can be a bit of a smart alec and certainly Silda has that in her as well. I like to be funny and sarcastic, as does Silda. I, like Silda, have a sister and it’s probably the closest relationship I have on this earth. So I understand sister love. There’s nothing we could do or say to destroy it.

PH: In what ways are you changed from this story?

Ellie: This play is a good reminder that what we see is just the surface of others’ realities. There’s usually much more going on than meets the eye.

This story also makes me want to really let my family know how much they mean to me how important they are for my existence.

PH: There are a lot of twists and turns in this show, especially the ending. What will audiences learn about human nature from these surprises?

Ellie: People never stop parenting, now matter how old their children become.

It’s dangerous and unfair to categorize people by a convenient stereotype.

PH: Any special thanks or shout-outs?

Ellie: My children Angie, Davey and Casey (I am a proud Mama!) My friend Jan who generously acts as my line coach. My dog Lucy who sits on the couch with a confused look on her face as I run my lines.


Check back next week to meet our final cast member! Other Desert Cities opens next week Thursday! You can grab your tickets by calling 218-733-7555 or by purchasing online. See you at the show!

tickets-button

Share your thoughts!

