Tony Award Nominations

Written by Mallory Cleveland
Playhouse Marketing Project Coordinator

Well, aside from the fact that I work at a theatre, which would imply that I am a fan of theatre – I am most excited for the Tony Awards for two reasons. Before I share them with you, I would like to say that there are a lot of really great shows, actors, and artists up for awards this year – all of which deserve honorable mention, so make sure to check them out at tonyawards.com.

In particular though, I am really jazzed for two of the productions up for awards because we’ll be doing them at the Playhouse and in The Underground! I’d like to just take a second to nerd out over these two productions, if you don’t mind 🙂

lesmis2Seeing Les Misérables nominated for a few awards is honestly making me SUPER excited for us to open our production in July at the DECC! It’s such a powerful show and from the video below, I can’t even imagine how wonderful their production is. It’s nominated for 3 awards: Best Revival of a Musical, Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical (Ramin Karimloo), and Best Sound Design of a Musical (Mick Potter). Check out the video below to get a glimpse – I hope they perform at the Tony’s!

To read more about the show, click here to view information from www.tonyawards.com.

hedwig

Also up for Best Revival of a Musical, along with 7 other nominations, is Hedwig and the Angry Inch. We’re producing Hedwig in October down in The Underground as part of the 2014 Season (auditions are June 3rd, wink, wink). To see the momentous list of nominations, click here to check it out on tonyawards.com – it’s quite long. I personally can’t wait to see this show, it’s going to rock! Its no surprise that Neil Patrick Harris is up for Best (Male) Performance in a Musical, he looks amazing in this show. Check out the video below to learn more about Hedwig and how he prepared, its super fun!


Those are the main shows I’m excited for, simply because I’ve gotten to have hands-on experience with them through graphic design work and box office operations here at the Playhouse. But I am equally jazzed to see so many awesome shows and artists up for other awards as well. Just had to share my excitement!

Who are you rooting for this award season?

Share your thoughts!

